Malai Gobhi – Indian style creamy cauliflower

I remember I went out for lunch with my colleagues one day to a restaurant and I had a very yummy veg starter there. I knew nothing about it except for the name “Malai Gobhi” and it was so yummy that I could never forget it’s taste. I tried searching a lot for a recipe of it but could not find the kind of I was looking for. But, I so much wanted to have it as I had not forgot the rich and creamy taste of it.

So, thought to try it, without worrying of the results, how bad they can be, after all. I tried and yes, I succeeded. I got the very same restaurant taste in my first attempt and I was so very glad!!

So, here’s the recipe of my perfect attempt.. Since, I was just trying it, I could not make the video but thought to share it on blog so that you can go ahead and try it out!!

Dish Type : Curry & Starter

Cooking Time : 20-30 minutes

Servings : 2-3 people

Ingredients:

  1. Cauliflower (cut into flowerettes) – 1 small
  2. Chopped Onions – 2 medium sized
  3. Pureed Tomatoes – 1 cup
  4. Green chillies (Pureed with tomatoes) – 2 (depends on how spicy they are)
  5. Dried fenugreek leaves (Kasoori methi) – 2 tsp
  6. Salt – 2 tsp or as per taste
  7. Red chilli powder – 1 tsp
  8. Coriander Powder – 1 tsp
  9. Turmeric Powder – 1 tsp
  10. Garam masala powder – 1 tsp
  11. Asafoetida (Hing) – 1/2 tsp
  12. Cumin seeds (Jeera) – 1 tsp
  13. Malai – 1/2 cup
  14. Oil – 1/2 cup
  15. Water – 1/2 cup

Process:

  1. Heat 1/2 cup oil in a kadhai and put in cauliflower flowerettes and cook them on medium flame with occasional stirring.
  2. Cook cauliflower until half cooked, like shown in the picture below.2
  3. Strain out the cooked flower and keep aside.
  4. In the oil left in kadhai, add asafoetida, cumin seeds and let the seeds splutter.
  5. Now, add onions and stir fry them on high flame with continuous stirring.
  6. Add salt and once onions start turning brown, add tomato puree and kasoori methi and again stir fry until the tomato gravy thickens and oil starts separating.
  7. To this, add all spices and stir well.
  8. Cook for 2-3 minutes and then, add malai and mix well.
  9. Now, add water and cooked cauliflower and mix well such that all flowerettes are well coated with masala.
  10. Cover and cook for 5 minutes on low-medium flame.
  11. All the gravy will thicken and get coated on the cauliflower. Turn off the stove and done!!

How to serve:

Serve hot with choice of Indian bread. This can also be served as a delicious veg starter.

I hope You’ll like it too…

One Comment Add yours

  1. Debbie Lopez says:

    I loved this! I made leaving out the 1/2 cup of water.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment